“Simply be present with your own shifting energies and with the unpredictability of life as it unfolds.”
~ Krishna Pattabhi Jois ~

Ashtanga Yoga is a style of yoga codified and popularized by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century which is often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga. Ashtanga stands for the eight limbs or branches of yoga mentioned in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, of which asana or physical yoga posture is merely one branch, breath or pranayama is another. Both Pattabhi Jois and Sharath Jois, his grandson, encourage the practice of Ashtanga Yoga – all eight limbs. The first two limbs – Yamas and Niyamas – are given special emphasis to be practiced in conjunction with the 3rd and 4th limbs (asana and pranayama).

Ashtanga vinyasa yoga emphasizes certain main components, namely tristhana (“three places of action or attention”, or the more physical aspects of poses) and vinyasa (the alignment of breaths with movement).

The main benefits of Ashtanga are:

  • Physical Strength
  • Mental Healing
  • Spiritual Well Being
  • Weight Management
  • Increases Flexibility

Ashtanga classes start from $15 per class.
One on one sessions start from $49